Introducing new Associate Editors for Journal of Zoology – Part 2

Lina Moreno, CONICET-UNCOMA, Argentina

http://www.researchgate.net/profile/Debora_Moreno_Azocar/

I am Lina, a curious person by nature, Argentinean, and mother of two (an amazing girl and a boy). I live in an incredible landscape, surrounded by lakes and mountains… a perfect place for a field biologist that makes one suffer when lab duties call.

I work as an assistant researcher at the Instituto de Investigaciones en Biodiversidad y Medioambiente (INIBIOMA, CONICET-UNCo), from Bariloche, Argentina. My main research interests are in evolutionary biology and ecophysiology, especially in relation to herpetozoos and their morphological adaptations that allow them to successfully inhabit such diverse landscapes as arid deserts and the cold and changing Patagonian steppe. My bachelor dissertation was about trophic ecology in a desert Liolaemus lizard, and since then, I’ve been amazed by the incredible adaptations and abilities these animals have to survive in the harshest environments. After that, my PhD thesis was about studying body size and colouration in a group of Liolaemus inhabiting the Argentinean Patagonia as possible adaptations to cold climates. In the last ten years, I have been working on the ecomorphology, macroecology, and functional ecology of these beautiful reptiles, mainly from a comparative view. Currently I am interested in elucidating how lizards use their environment and its resources to cope with their requirements, and how this influences their behaviour and habits (or vice versa?). As an Associate Editor and researcher, I would like to see submissions from multidisciplinary teams, tackling evolutionary or ecomorphological hypotheses in reptiles (however, any question in science catches my attention, beyond the study object and the subject matter!), and to see more women and other minority gender researchers publishing striking studies.

Adam Reddon, Liverpool John Moores University, UK

https://www.adamreddon.ca/

I am pleased to be joining the editorial board of the Journal of Zoology. I look forward to contributing to the direction of this diverse and exciting publication.

Currently, I am a Senior Lecturer in Behavioural Ecology at Liverpool John Moores University. I am keenly interested in the behavioural biology of social living. I have a particular fascination with aggression, dominance, and group living. I seek to better understand social behaviour through the integration of functional, developmental, and mechanistic approaches. I primarily work with fishes in my research. In my laboratory, we are currently working with the cooperatively breeding daffodil cichlid, Neolamprologus pulcher. I have also worked on many other fish species, as well as birds and mammals, addressing a wide variety of questions in animal behaviour. Some of my current projects are focused on communication and signalling, cognition, and the neuroendocrine mediators of dominance relationships.

I would like to see more papers in the Journal of Zoology taking an integrative approach to understanding animal behaviour in non-model species.

Rebecca Nagel, Bielefeld University, Germany

thehoffmanlab.com/group/rebecca-nagel

I am a post-doctoral researcher within the DFG-funded Collaborative Research Centre Transregio NC³ (https://www.uni-bielefeld.de/biologie/crc212/) at Bielefeld University in Germany studying the intrinsic and extrinsic factors that influence individual fitness variation.

I completed my PhD at the University of Potsdam in the working group of Dr. Ralph Tiedemann, where I focused on the genetic basis of adaptive traits and the relative role of behaviour and morphology in the African weakly electric fish speciation. Here, I became interested in the concept of ecological niches, and in particular individual phenotypic variation and adaptation. This led me to my current position in the working group of Dr. Joseph Hoffman, where I use a combination of biometric data, GPS tracking data, and hormone and gene expression data to gain a better understanding of the mechanisms underpinning individual fitness variation.

My current project has involved the collection of detailed observational and biometric time-series data on Antarctic fur seal mother-offspring pairs from the sub-Antarctic Bird Island, South Georgia. This has given me a newfound appreciation for the importance of – but also the difficulties inherent to – field-based studies and long-term motoring projects of wild populations. As an Associate Editor for the Journal of Zoology, I therefore look forward to promoting fieldwork-based research and studies on wild populations. I look forward to reading more papers integrating genetic, behavioral, and environmental data. I am excited to see new advances in our understanding of individual variation and ultimately population dynamics. 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑